Search Audio heaven

Loading...

Tuesday, 12 March 2013

The Start of Everything – Emily Winslow


In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last minute.
“If you dont want to see me again, say so. But its not right to say nothing. Its not right to go silent. You know what to do.” Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story. Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth – about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager – she may have to betray her partner.
Unabridged.
Read by Stephen Hoye.


No comments:

Post a Comment